Call for papers and review process

This page provides an overview of the review process for SACLA 2017.

Call for papers

SACLA’17 is committed to the original motivation of the very first SACLA meetings more than forty years ago: to provide a forum at which lecturers of Computer Science and Informatics can discuss contemporary issues of lecturing these subjects at tertiary education level. With the motivation of above, SACLA’17 calls for original research papers in all matters concerning the teaching of Computer Science (CS), Information Systems (IS) or Information Technology (IT) in institutions of Tertiary Education.

Papers can describe an educational research project, classroom experience, teaching technique, curricular initiative, or pedagogical tool. Relevant contemporary topics might include – for example:

  • Keeping up with constant changes in the field of Computer Science and Information Systems;
  • Keeping up with changes in technology;
  • Adapting to new generations of students;
  • Keeping relevant by collaboration with industry;
  • Keeping relevant by Africanising curriculums;
  • Relevance of program / curriculum design;
  • Didactics and methods of teaching and assessment;
  • Ethical problems;
  • Transition of newly graduated school pupils;
  • Transition of newly graduated students into industry;
  • International comparability of degrees and levels of knowledge / skill / performance;
  • Separation or combination of teaching and research;
  • General matters: Best / worst practices, success / failure experiences.

Submission and Publication:

Within those themes and topic fields, two types of submissions are possible:

  • full-length (approx. 10-20 pages) research papers or practical experience reports with solid results, or
  • short-papers (approx. 6 pages) for interesting and promising “work in progress”.

Authors are offered two options for publication of papers:

  • It is planned to apply to Springer for selected papers to be published in a Springer publication: Communications in Computer and Information Science (CCIS). CCIS is abstracted/indexed in DBLP, Google Scholar, EI-Compendex, Mathematical Reviews, SCImago, Scopus. CCIS volumes are also submitted for the inclusion in ISI Proceedings. See the SACLA 2016 publication:
  • Accepted papers can also be published in the SACLA 2017 proceedings. The proceedings will have an ISBN and accepted papers are likely to qualify as subsidy earning publications. Papers not accepted for the Springer publication will also be considered for publication in the SACLA 2017 proceedings.

Submissions will be reviewed by three reviewers following a double-blind peer review process. Papers will be evaluated according to their novel research contribution, methodological soundness, theoretical framing and reference to related work, quality of analysis, and quality of writing and presentation. Only original, unpublished, research papers in English will be considered. SACLA 2017 gladly accepts global contributions.

Accepted papers must be presented at the conference.

Submissions can be made via Easychair:

Important dates

Paper submission deadline: Monday 6th of March Monday 27th of March 2017.

Reviews due: Monday 1st of May 2017.

Notification of paper acceptance: Friday 12th of May 2017.

Early registration deadline: Monday 15th of May 2017 Monday 22nd of May 2017.

Registration deadline: Monday 29th of May 2017.


Author guidelines

Templates and guidelines can be found on the Springer website at:

Program committee and paper review process

Program committee

The program committee consists of the following members:

Liz Bacon, University of Greenwich, United Kingdom
Trudie Benade, North-West University, South Africa
Torsten Brinda, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
André Calitz, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, South Africa
Charmain Cilliers, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, South Africa
Peter Csaba-Ölveczky, University of Oslo, Norway
Jörg Desel, Fernuniversität in Hagen, Germany
Gunther Drevin, North-West University, South Africa
Lynette Drevin, North-West University, South Africa
Peter Forbrig, University of Rostock, Germany
Kurt Geihs, University of Kassel, Germany
Roelien Goede, North-West University, South Africa
Joanna Goode, University of Oregon, USA
Leila Goosen, University of South Africa, South Africa
Irene Govender, University of Kwazulu Natal, South Africa
Stefan Gruner, University of Pretoria, South Africa
Mariele Hagen, Dortmund University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Germany
Ruber Hernandez, University of Namibia, Namibia
Michaela Huhn, Ostfalia University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Magda Huisman, North-West University, South Africa
Eduan Kotze, University of the Free State, South Africa
Herbert Kuchen, University of Münster, Germany
Janet Liebenberg, North-West University, South Africa
Linda Marshall, University of Pretoria, South Africa
Audrey Masizana, University of Botswana, Botswana
Maggie McPherson, University of Leeds, United Kingdom
Dawn Medlin, Appalachian State University, USA
Katharina Mehner-Heindl, Offenburg University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Mohamed Mosbah, University of Bordeaux 1, France
Mabhena Mpofu, National University of Science and Technology, Zimbabwe
Matthew Mullarkey, University of South Florida, USA
Jane Nash, Rhodes University, South Africa
Lakshmi Narasimhan, University of Botswana, Botswana
Gabriel Nhinda, University of Namibia, Namibia
James Njenga, University of the Western Cape, South Africa
Benny Nyambo, University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe
Kwete Nyandongo, University of Johannesburg, South Africa
Peter Ölveczky, University of Oslo, Norway
Julia Padberg, Hamburg University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Vreda Pieterse, University of Pretoria, South Africa
Karen Renaud, University of Glasgow, Scotland
Markus Roggenbach, Swansea University, UK
Michael Ruecker, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany
Ian Sanders, University of South Africa, South Africa
Brenda Scholtz, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, South Africa
Lisa Seymour, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Upasana Singh, University of Kwa-Zulu Natal, South Africa
Estelle Taylor, North-West University, South Afica
Marko van Eekelen, Open University of the Netherlands, Netherlands
Corne van Staden, University of South Africa, South Africa
Janis Voigtländer, University of Nijmegen , Netherlands
Gottfried Vossen, University of Münster, Germany
Jim Woodcock, University of York, UK
Olaf Zukunft, Hamburg University of Applied Sciences, Germany

Review process

The figure below gives an overview of the review process.